Are my chances for law school gone?

kwakwa

kwakwa
  • Applicant

I just finished 4th year of undergrad at uOttawa (joint honours degree in Econ and Poli Sci). I still haven't graduated because of a few outstanding credits but I'm set to graduate after fall.

Assuming my remaining three courses don't change my GPA significantly, I'm looking at:

CGPA: 3.00 on the dot

L2 (same as B2 in my case): 3.39

My EC's aren't spectacular, I did work for a member of parliament and currently doing a summer research job for a non-profit but very little club/EC experience. I worked through most of undergrad.

Don't really have great reasons for my low GPA either, other than having to work (which to be fair a lot of students do). I was an awful student in first year, more concerned with partying than actually studying, which isn't a great excuse. Took me a year in academic probation to straighten things out and by fourth year I was a solid A- average student, but my overall GPA did suffer as a result of my earlier years.

I've taken practice LSATs and my highest score was 163 which I understand is pretty good but not exceptional. I'm sure with months of practice I could do better, but practice tests aren't real ones so it doesn't really mean much.

References are decent, I have a couple profs who would put in a good word for me, as well as employers.