Legal job market in Canada, earnings, and future of the profession

hellohi

Hello all, I am a prospective law student trying to gain a better understanding of the legal profession in Canada. Becoming a lawyer has always been something that interested me, but I know it certainly isn't the only profession that would bring me satisfaction and meaning. I have finished my undergrad with strong grades but I have not written my LSAT. Before potentially writing my LSAT and preparing to apply to law school, I was hoping to better understand the current circumstances of the Canadian legal profession, including employment rates, salaries, work life balance etc.  

After searching around the internet, it appears that the legal market is quite saturated and becoming increasingly competitive. It seems as though the American legal market is more saturated than it's Canadian counterpart, although neither of them are what they once were. For the US, I have heard that going to a prestigious T20 school is generally needed to be safe in securing a relatively sought after position unless you want to work in a rural or less populated area. I understand a similar trend is occurring in Canada to some extent (for instance, going to a prestigious school matters for big law) although it is not quite as dire. Big markets like Toronto and Vancouver are more saturated/competitive, but they are also the regions where Canadian Big Law is based according to my research. I've also heard of many recent law graduates failing to find articling positions and that starting salaries are often quite poor for the amount of hours worked. There is also apparently a large demand for certain types of lawyers, but many clients can't foot the bill. A lagging economy, outsourcing, and increased law school graduates are all contributing factors.