UK school stigma applicable to LLM?

Mignonette

Mignonette
  • Law Student

I am a Canadian law student finishing a JD in Canada. I hope to practice in Maritime Law (international shipping and commerce, international treaties related to oceans, conflicts of laws etc). Profs and lawyers in practice have strongly recommended that I take an LLM as this is considered an asset for this practice area.  There are very few Maritime LLMs in the world.  Dal offers an LLM and has maritime courses, but no guarantee that they are offered each year.  There are some maritime/shipping LLM programs at UK law schools (Queen Mary, City, Swansea). I am, of course, aware of the UK law school stigma.  Is this only a concern for LLB programs and the whole NCA/articling challenge?  I plan to complete articles and Ontario bar, and likely a few years of practice before pursuing an LLM. I could also take a Maritime LLM in Sweden, Singapore or South Africa, but the UK would be much easier for practical reasons.

CleanHands
  • Lawyer

The practice area you're interested in is niche and I can't comment upon that. You have clearly done your homework about it and I'm sure the people you have spoken to know better about maritime law than pretty much everyone here.

But re: "UK stigma," you're fine. There is a big difference between a Canadian who can't get into law school anywhere in Canada so they get a foreign LLB from an open admissions school, and a Canadian lawyer with a Canadian JD who obtains a relevant foreign LLM to advance their career in a specific niche practice area.

Edited by CleanHands
  • Like 3

PzabbytheLawyer
  • Lawyer

What @CleanHandssaid.

A warning though: this practice area is very niche, and not much of it exists in Canada outside of the Maritimes. It does in parts of the rest of the world though.

Keep that in mind given your intention to practice it after.

Psychometronic
  • Lawyer
9 hours ago, Mignonette said: