Constraints on private "practice" while employed elsewhere

CndnViking

CndnViking
  • Applicant

This seems like it's probably a pretty basic question, but as an incoming law student I had the thought come up and I'm hoping to hear from someone who knows.

Basically what I'm wondering is how joining a firm, or going in-house with a company, affects your ability to act as a lawyer outside of your employer's purview.

So for example, say a lawyer worked for a firm in their real estate law division, but then a low-income family member was looking for help fighting a fine or negotiating a contract to buy a car. Would that lawyer be able to help out, acting as a private practitioner? (Obviously not claiming to represent their firm, using firm resources, etc.) or would being with the firm create an exclusivity situation where they can't do anything in a legal setting without the firm's involvement?

Again, sorry if it's a dumb question, I just don't want to wait a couple years to find out the answer. 😆

Byzantine
  • Law Student

My guess is that if you're employed by a firm/company you wouldn't be able to act outside for a fee. If we're talking about doing pro bono work the answer may be different. My understanding is that each firm would have its own pro bono policy as there can be issues with conflicts and what kind of pro bono work a firm wants you doing. 

Also, acting for family members is dicey. There are ethical issues as to whether you are competent to represent them due to the relationship. You would also need to be competent to represent them as to the subject matter (for example, as a real estate lawyer you may know nothing about a bylaw ticket). Your insurance may also prohibit you from acting for family members. 

I'm a law student so hopefully someone else with more experience can jump in. 

• Like 1