Saturated legal market?

Here_come_da_judge

Here_come_da_judge
  • Applicant

Hi everyone, I’m a 1l student and I need some advice from those who are working in law. I am concerned based on hearing lately that the CAD legal market is saturated (and has been for quite some time) and the cost of tuition and the career prospects after graduation are tough, especially considering that some have told me the legal profession generally in Canada is underpaid. Can I get some second opinions on this from those who are experienced and work in law? Does the work really pay off and Would you recommend going through law school and articling if you had to do it again? 

Mod note: I renamed the title from "IMPORTANT" to what it is now.

13 minutes ago, Here_come_da_judge said:

especially considering that some have told me the legal profession generally in Canada is underpaid.

I think that depends on your expectations and standards for pay. What would you consider to be adequate pay?

Here_come_da_judge
  • Applicant

Well it’s just that I’ve heard A LOT of those who graduate 3 years in are making $85k a year and those who are making 6 figures work more than a regular work week and broken down they are making $38 an hr….

I would say adequate pay would be higher than this, was not expecting this to apply so broadly. 

Edited by Here_come_da_judge

• Renerik changed the title to Saturated legal market?
Debtful
  • Applicant

Most non big-law jobs/non-bay firms will pay less than that. The Ontario MAG was paying students $16-18 an hour.

GoatDuck
  • Law Student

In law, you almost never work a “regular work week”. There are many high paying legal jobs, but it’s not a career where you go home at 5:00pm on Friday and not think about work until 9:00am on Monday. 

Hayesy-B
  • Lawyer
24 minutes ago, Here_come_da_judge said: