Real Estate Law

SmallBart

SmallBart
  • Law School Admit

I'm not a lawyer (at least not yet) and I'm trying to get a sense of the different avenues of practice and what it would look like where I to change careers. I'm interested in a few areas, most of which (corporate, wills and estates) are covered by other subforums. However I haven't seen much said about real estate law. I thought I'd start a thread, with a few initial questions to get things going.

1. What is your day-to-day like, both in terms of work schedule and in terms of activities (drafting, client meetings, appearance in court).

2. What's the balance in terms of litigation vs solicitor work? I'm mainly interested in working as a solicitor; is it common for real estate lawyers to work purely as solicitors? 

3. My understanding is that the vast majority of real estate lawyers work in small to mid-size firms. What is the hiring process like for these kinds of firms? There is a ton of information (and anxiety) online about the 2Ls but my understanding is that most lawyers in retail fields are hired outside of that, either through the formal articling process or informally through postings, connections, cold-calling, etc.

4. What is compensation/income like throughout a real estate lawyer's career, typically? While I don't need to make Bay Street money I'd ideally like to make a fair margin above my current career, which would be marginal if pay was similar to (for example) public law.

5. What would you advise law students do to prepare themselves for a career in real estate law, both in terms of courses and extracurriculars, summer jobs, etc?

canuckfanatic
  • Lawyer

I started my career with a focus on real estate law, later transitioned to banking.