Criminal defence barristers & new business

Dalmore

Dalmore
  • Applicant

To those of you that work as criminal defence barristers, how much emphasis is there on bringing in new business? What does "bringing in new business" look like to you and what size of firm for you work for? I come from the corporate consulting world and am considering a career change to law so apologies if the question is a silly one.

Edited by Dalmore

Most criminal defence lawyers are sole practitioners, so they have to get clients or they find a different job. Those that work with other defence sometimes have an office sharing agreement but it’s still an “eat what you kill” scenario. 

Criminal defence firms are comparatively uncommon. 

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...
SNAILS
  • Articling Student

I have some experience with bringing in business, though an actually solo practitioner would know more. 

Look at it from the client's perspective. Often, they got into a criminal situation unexpectedly, got arrested, and find themselves in need of a lawyer. They Google and ask around, or perhaps they've hired a certain lawyer before. Other's are a little farther down the road and have either found it is no longer viable to self rep, or they have had a falling out with their old lawyer and need a new one. Some are in custody awaiting bail. 

For a while, all intake calls for my principle lawyer were transferred to me, and I would screen the client. My instructions were that absent glaring issues, we do want new clients either with cash or a legal aid certificate. From there, I would discuss the services offered and discuss size of the retainer. It was often a limited retainer, so I would then discuss where a limited retainer ends and a trial retainer begins. The process is not unlike closing a deal for other products/services (i.e. selling cars) if you have ever worked in sales. I would draft the retainer and meet in person or virtually with the client for signing.