Chances with an assigned C and LSAT 167

sadgpanoises

sadgpanoises
  • Applicant

I just got a R from UofC and no word from any other schools. I'm thinking of retaking my LSAT for 170+ for a better chance next cycle since my GPA is at 2.7 so I don't have much hope...how are my odds looking for TRU?

HarryCrane
  • Articling Student

It’s very likely going to be an R unless you have some pretty exceptional circumstances to explain the GPA, and some even more exceptional softs to give you a holistic bump. 

• Like 2

sadgpanoises
  • Applicant
Posted (edited)
15 hours ago, HarryCrane said:

It’s very likely going to be an R unless you have some pretty exceptional circumstances to explain the GPA, and some even more exceptional softs to give you a holistic bump. 

I graduated during Covid and worked full time for the Red Cross + Lifesaving Society during that time which was my explanation for the GPA, my softs also include being the executive admin for 2 medium-sized businesses through covid and 2-4th year at UBC. Thank you for the reply though and I'll probably be retaking the LSAT for 170+ for a higher chance next cycle!

Edited by sadgpanoises

HarryCrane
  • Articling Student

So I’m going to be honest, I think even with a 170 LSAT you are not going to get in. Your reason for a low GPA is not unique - many people work during undergrad. It’s not going to get you much in terms of holistic review, and your softs are similarly not impressive enough to really benefit from holistic review. 

My strong suggestion would be to try to boost your GPA.