Do admission committee prefer other degrees over Bachelor of Arts student

Goku560

Goku560
  • Applicant

Hi all I have a question regarding admissions,

Most people I know who apply for Law schools do a bachelor of Arts degree with majors in criminology, liberal studies, philosophy and etc. My question is for schools that are holistic will they prefer a student that has done a  different degree then a BA. For example I have a Bcom degree will and someone with a BA also has same stats as me will I be preferred because I have a Bcom and I went through  more rigorous courses and I have a different degree then most of the applicant pool so I will bring a different perspective then BA or it doesn't matter what degree you did which one is it?

No, it doesn't matter. There is no preference given. Although an admission committee will consider the nature of your degree you got in their holistic assessment. 

Edited by Apple

Pantalaimon
  • Lawyer
1 hour ago, Goku560 said:

Most people I know who apply for Law schools do a bachelor of Arts degree with majors in criminology, liberal studies, philosophy and etc. 

Honestly I knew more BScs than BAs at UCalgary, and a lot of the BAs were business or econ. It was pretty rare that I ran into the 'classic' pre-law degrees (Poli Sci, Psych, English/History) majors.

LordBONSAI
  • Applicant

I remember reading a post on TLS where a former adcom officer said they don't care what kind of UG degree you have. He also professed it is very rare that a BA and a BS with identical stats will compete against each other for one spot. Hope this helps.

Edited by LordBONSAI

Pendragon
  • Lawyer
4 hours ago, Goku560 said:

Hi all I have a question regarding admissions,