Leaving Litigation

notoriousrbg

notoriousrbg
  • Lawyer

I'm a fifth year call and have been very unhappy practicing litigation. I have been thinking about leaving law but have been struggling to find another career path where my law degree would be helpful. I know several people who have left law and ended up in commercial or business jobs but I have no experience or interest in business. Most of the jobs I find in the government such as policy jobs have their maximum salary as below $100,000 which is difficult as I am currently making more than that. I am willing to take a pay cut but it's hard to think of my maximum pay in another area as being under $100,000. Has anyone left law or know someone who has left law, and where did you or they end up going? I'm just looking for more ideas as to what there is realistically outside of law (without having to back to school) and what my expectations should be in pay. 

PePeHalpert
  • Lawyer

It might be helpful if you expanded on what aspects of litigation you don't like, and if there are any aspects of practicing law that you do like.   There may be related fields that would interest you, like workplace investigations or working for regulatory bodies. 

This kind of post is incredibly frustrating. 

Your expectations are seriously messed up. Outside of law $100k a year is a great salary. I left practice to work for the BC government and made $70k to start. It has taken me 4 years in government and a transfer to Ottawa to make $100k. And you know what? I am incredibly grateful for my job. It offers rewarding work and a great work-life balance; not only that I am grateful for the salary which is more than enough, even for my single-income household. 

You're five years into your career and unhappy. And yet, you chose a specialty that offers few exit options (insurance litigation), have shown no steps to build skills outside your specialty, and have a warped sense of your value. 

• Like 5

CleanHands
  • Lawyer